If you live in Maryland and consume marijuana for medicinal reasons, you are in luck as this state has legalized marijuana usage for those with certified medical conditions who have a prescription from their doctor. While Maryland has partially legalized marijuana, those without a prescription are still unable to consume marijuana, and if caught you will be faced with criminal charges and fines. Below you will find the most current Maryland marijuana laws and penalties, which are active as of 2010.
Possession of Marijuana:
If you are caught with any amount of marijuana, intended for personal consumption, you will be charged with a misdemeanor. This charge carries a possible jail time of one year and a maximum fine of $1,000. If this is your first charge, the you may be able to forego jail time for probation; however, if you have had more than one marijuana conviction, the judge may find that jail time and the maximum fine be worthy of your crime.
Cultivation and Sale of Marijuana:
If you are caught selling or growing less than 50 pounds of marijuana, you will be charged with a felony, which carries a possible jail sentence of five years in prison and a maximum fine of $15,000.
If you are caught growing or selling 50 pounds or more of marijuana then you will be charged with a felony offense. This type of charge carries a mandatory minimum sentence of five years in prison and a maximum fine of $100,000. A mandatory minimum sentence means this is a required sentence and a judge is unable to reduce this sentence. Take note, it is possible for you to receive more jail time; however, you will be required to serve at least five years.
If you are caught selling or growing marijuana within 1,000 feet of school or caught selling marijuana on a school bus you will be charged with a felony. This particular charge carries a possible jail sentence of 20 years in prison and a maximum fine of $20,000.
If you are caught having marijuana paraphernalia on your person, selling or using this paraphernalia you will be charged with a misdemeanor, which does not require any jail time (if it is your first offense) and a maximum fine of $500. If you are caught with paraphernalia another time, a subsequent offense, you will be charged with a misdemeanor; however, you may be charged with a felony given your past criminal record. This charge may require up to two years in prison and a maximum fine of $2,000.