Arkansas requires a license for lawful work as a cosmetologist. The requirements for getting a license include two main things – cosmetology school completion and passage of a written and practical cosmetology exam. Applicants with an existing license can also apply to transfer their license to Arkansas.
Access the Arkansas cosmetology school list. Contact schools individually for more information, such as class availability, tuition and other factors.
Complete your school training. Arkansas requires aspiring cosmetologists to complete 1500 hours of training. After your training, make sure your shool sends a certificate of training to the Cosmetology Section so you can take your license exams.
You must also be at least 16 years old and complete the 10th grade or equivalent general education. For example, if you have a GED, you are good to go.
Do as best you can to prepare for the exam. The passing rate is better than 90 percent recently in this state, so the exam should not be a problem if you exhaustively study all of your course textbooks and practice as much as possible on your hands-on tasks. You should also read the candidate information bulletins below get study tips for your cosmetology exam.
Fill out and send in an application for the practical portion of the Arkansas cosmetology exam. The practical exam fee is $65, as of 2010. The fee for the written exam is $60. PSI separately administers this written exam. Download the PSI bulletin and the practical exam application from the Resources below.
If you are currently licensed in another state, it is possible to get a reciprocal license to work as a cosmetologist in Arkansas. You should contact the cosmetology board below to get an application. Note that you will still have to take the Arkansas cosmetology law (state law) portion of the written exam.
Once you pass all of your exams, then you can get an Arkansas cosmetology license. A separate fee will apply for the initial license. Contact the board below to get application forms and find out current licensing fees.
Arkansas Department of Health
4815 West Markham
Little Rock, AR 72205
Arkansas Cosmetology School List
Arkansas Practical Cosmetology Exam Application
Arkansas Cosmetologist Exam Candidate Information Bulletin
PSI Written Exam Candidate Guide